On the dearth of commentary!

And no, I’m not referring to the lack of such on this blog, haha. I’m talking  about the lack of commentary on fantasy (well-thought out, current, commentary on trends in fantasy, what’s good, what’s not, etcetera). Why the fuck can’t I find anything worthwhile? Am I just lame at searching for it? I put in a search for ‘writing’ here on WordPress and came up with a hundred thousand or more bullshit pages from bullshit people about bullshit and yet putting in ‘fantasy’ or ‘fantasy writing’ pulls up ten half-hearted results, as though even the search engine is saying,

“Really? That’s the best you can do?”

I did find this blog post by a writer, Damien G. Walter , who spoke briefly about the new trends and questioned it. He was responding to this Agony Column podcast. You can see my response in the link provided to Damien’s website. Basically, I wasn’t impressed when the interviewer and interviewee (apparently a top editor at the forefront of fantasy) both mistakenly referred to Terry Goodkind as the author of the Sword of Shannara series.

Seriously, this shit isn’t hard to keep track of, people. And you might be thinking, Omar (that’s my name, by the way) that’s kinda close to what you’re looking for isn’t it? Yes but it was written over a year ago and isn’t that great to begin with, or in-depth. Someone help me out? Is there a goldmine out there I’m missing?

If you know it, link me!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “On the dearth of commentary!

  1. You just need to look harder, it’s out there. Is there a particular sub-genre you are interested in?

  2. Well, you’d do better to look at the thread on AW, where I’ve ammended my comment somewhat. it’s not that the material isn’t out there, but that most blogs have a few posts here and there, as opposed to being focused on it.

  3. Off the top of my head I can suggest:

    i09.com – actually much more sci-fi focussed, but there is the occasional fantasy review/discussion/commentary/etc

    http://www.swordandlaser.com – a podcast with accompanying comments and discussion forums that covers both sci-fi and fantasy books. I admit to not actually having listened to a minute of it, but it looks good, right?

    From my experience, a lot more of the internet is devoted to sci-fi than to fantasy, which is understandable, I guess. There is a lot more “mainstream” sci-fi fare – movies, tv-shows – than fantasy (despite the obvious success of the LoTR movies).

  4. Your blog is new. Maybe *you* can be that resource you’re looking for.

    You may have better luck looking up specific genres. If you say “fantasy,” a *lot* of people are going to immediately think you mean books with dragons and shirtless dudes on the cover, to the exclusion of all else.

Leave a Reply

